top of page
  • Writer's pictureNgcebo

Polyandry


This Weeks entry is from my man Boldwill "MvRkBeats" Shivambu. Hope you enjoy.

It’s O-Week 2016. The rest of the freshmen and I at the time were just getting introduced to the wonderfully bizarre world that is Varsity Life.

We had a special night ahead of us. This would be the first time we meet our sister res, Sunnyside. Now I wasn't the most social of the bunch and my skills with the ladies were sub-par to say the least. So, you can imagine how I was feeling going into it.


Supper time arrives accompanied by the lovely ladies, and we head into the dining hall after a few entertaining performances for our guests (which comprised of beautiful bellowing by my brethren and I). I get my food and search for a table. In keeping with our res' tradition, we have to sit next to women (the so-called zebra formation). So, this is how I end up sharing a table with this lovely young lady. She was the good looking one; the type that becomes an immediate crush that one just has to get, body on Coca-Cola bottle vibes.


I muster up courage and introduce myself to her. She responds and we start engaging in conversation. I've got a good thing going with the PYT. There's hope for a happy ending here. Just as we are getting somewhere, we are interrupted by our House Comm. We are instructed to go form single file lines outside our dining hall. It is now time for the second and most dreaded part of the night. THE WEDDING.


Going off the idea that me and the PYT were vibing, I'm hoping we'll wind up together at the wedding too. In the spirits of progression, all the men are lined up in rows and the women get their pick of the bunch. They can choose any guy to be their “husbands". I find myself in the third row, neck peeking over everyone in the hopes the PYT sees the young king.


The women begin their picking and slowly the men around me start to disappear. Then, finally, it's her turn to pick and my turn to try avoiding heart palpitations. She comes up (we were sitting down), looks around (majestically I might say). She takes her time and her eyes meet with mine… and they carry on looking around (what the fuck).


And she picks some dude in the front row. It's tears for me. My only chance has gone now.


Some time goes by and the lines become thinner and thinner. With me still in the line starting to think this night ain't really for me. House Comm realises it’s bad for some guys now… and in a rare show of mercy, announces that the ladies can pick more than just one guy for the night, and things start to get interesting.


Some time passes and this girl shows up. She is okay looking, but nothing compared to the PYT from earlier in the night. She decides that she would make the most of this new opportunity. She starts scanning through the rows of nervous niggas. She finally takes her first pick in the front row, and moves closer to where I was… she looks at me and… finally decides to pick me (second? Really? For that guy? What a bummer) I get up, somehow just glad I wasn't picked last, and the three of us head off to grab a seat.


I had gotten my first taste of what varsity is really like, and it really wasn't the last time heartbreak would rear its ugly head.


She and I ended up friends after that night and continued to joke about that night months later. Other dude managed to finish the night off with a new nickname.


On the plus side, I managed to get together with the PYT from earlier on. Met her a few weeks later and we got to create some good memories together.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jaded

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

THANK FOR SUBSCRIBING

bottom of page