top of page
  • Writer's pictureNtando

Wake Up Call


Never in my life had I thought that the simple act of crossing the road could be fatal. That going to the restroom could be the last time my loved one's see me. Or deciding to leave a party early and take an uber back home could be the last autonomous decision I make. This is a reality I was only made aware of and introduced to in, I'd say 2016, when I started getting close to a few female friends and they let me into their frightening version of South Africa.


Late afternoon strolls around my neighbourhood are something I do to relieve stress. A rather

relaxing event. I'd never get it when my female homies would say, "please walk me home",

the only thing that came in mind was the inconvenience of the trip, either having to leave my

very warm and comfy room or interrupt my studying. Meanwhile she's trying to avoid being

abducted and having God knows what done to her.


Recently I've been fixing together an "arrive alive" kit for my significant other. Consisting of a

taser, whistle and pepper spray. I hate that this is the situation we find ourselves in. That the

onus is on the victim to take extraordinary precautions. You know what though, it's not like

kidnapping, rape, murder and gender-based violence is something new. We've had the highest rate of rape and domestic violence in the world, for a very long time. But and I think I speak for everyone when I say, Uyinene's tragic tale really hit home and struck accord. A fire was sparked and it brought people to action across the country. We all know the division and animosity that exists in this country, so it just tells you the magnitude such an event had, to impact all of us.


As you know, with every article I offer my very own two cents. And this time I feel I'm actually

qualified to, seeing as I am a man and the solution to this problem starts with us. It's a

complicated and complex problem, its roots run deep and trickle into conversations we have

as men. And so, such a problem's solution isn't that simple. But simply put, it starts with the

little things we do, sometimes done when you're unaware in the moment. The hypersexual

comments we make amongst each other or even in the presence of women. The very

unnecessary cat-calling culture. The uncomfortably suggestive comments made on a women's

social media posts. The gaze that lasts for a little bit too long, then becomes straight up creepy.

The whole club culture is problematic; from the intentions of the men and the persistence they

display at parties.

A lot of stuff, not just anti-rape campaigns can be done to stop women from feeling unsafe.

A bit of dark humour for today, what do you call a group of men? A threat. Funny but there's

always a bit of honesty to all dark humour. Summing it all up before I start rambling on, guys

let's just do what needs to be done. Let's stop perpetuating the culture. The change starts with

you.

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

THANK FOR SUBSCRIBING

bottom of page