top of page
  • Writer's pictureNgcebo

Mzansi's Finest


Mzansi's finest

So, in the past few weeks I was trying to write a list of top 10 best movies (according to me). About halfway through this I realised, why don’t I start in SA. Since SA doesn’t advertise their movies these days, I realised I couldn’t possibly come up with 10. So, I decided to do a 3-way battle royal.


So, in one corner standing at 14 years old, it is the Oscar winning South African story about a Gangster with a heart, Give it up for………. TSOTSI (crowd goes wild). In the other corner, standing at 11 years it is Mzansi’s answer to Scarface, about the man who ‘’conquered’’ a white Jewish woman, Jerusalema. And last and definitely not least, standing at 27 years, it is the OG in this battle, we bring you the South African Musical, Sarafina (old people erupt, realise the heart is pumping a bit too quick and sit down)


So, the criteria I will be using is Plot, setting, acting and wow factor. I will be marking all of them out of 10 and the one the highest score out of 40 wins. Easy right.


Jerusalema is a beauty. Plot wise its magnificent…. Only problem is that its really similar to Scarface, Goodfellas, American gangster etc. It is still good though and they put their personal touch on it. The plot in the story is really shot well… without much complaint in the pacing in the film. I'll give it at 8/10. Great but the fact that’s its been told in such a way that resembles so many American classics makes it drop a bit. Acting wise it loses it quite a bit. The main protagonist gives a compelling performance that I enjoyed but his supporting cast isn't always as believable as you can see the kinks in their acting and that white female chick really has some shoddy scenes. I'll give it a 6.5/10. The main character and overall plot of the movie carry the sometimes-mediocre cast. Setting wise it is magnificent. It being mostly set in Hilbrow is perfect. The background and scenery in the movie are perfect. The bustling city doesn't always overpower the voices of the actors which you see a lot in South African movies. It gives it the most authentic feel ever. The night club scenes aren't unbearable (still visible) and when he fetches the “brother in law" (usbari) that was really cool. 8.5/10 setting wise. Wow factor it had. I was left in awe of the movie (although it had your Shawshank Redemption esque ending) and I felt good after. I didn't feel rushed after the movie. The affair he has with the Jewish lady is a great look at interracial relations and how the 2 worlds collide (how the life of a black man is so different from a Caucasian). And I mean… they made us fall in love with a gangster 8.5 /10


Secondly, I'll be doing Tsotsi. Acting wise… wow. Some of the best performances I've seen by my people in a while. There are a few great performances, not just from the main characters but from the supporting cast. The main character might not have that many lines, but his visual performance is quite enticing I have to say. 8.5/10 in my opinion, shout out to Terry Phetho (not just because she's fly) Plot wise… it was a bit meh. It was enjoyable and I understand that it’s a story they felt needed to be told but man… I found my self sometimes underwhelmed. Its good. Don't get me wrong but the movie is carried more by great performances than a storyline that grips you by the throat and forces you to pay attention. 6.5/10 Setting wise… I actually liked it. The contrast of the lokishi to the suburbs is a great comparison on the problem we have in SA. Poverty being that close to the rich without them really caring. I can say the director could have made the scenes in the shanty towns less rosy but that’s not something to drop a full point about. 7.5/10. Wow factor wise… its there…. God damn its there… and this is not because they played Zolas's Mdlwembe in the movie… but it did help. The acting was really enjoyable but the plot at the end left me wanting a bit more… with a, oh well. 8/10.


So last... I'll be talking about Sarafina (gem by Leleti khumalo, might make a GOAT piece just with her) This is one that I watched for the first time when I was still a kid and even then, as a kid the storyline struck me. It’s a story that best gives you the story of South Africa. It is original in every way as a South African story, BUT I do have my own problems with it. Damn I’m sad to say this but although the story was meant to be done on stage (where it was originally from) the mix of violence and singing can make it kinda confusing and can take the impact of what is happening away from a person who isn’t South African. I mean its great as a South African and I won’t take off too many points, but the mix of singing and torture is a bit weird don’t you think? (send opinions on this). The ending was quite confusing as a kid and only understood better when I was older that it was the mom and Sarafina getting an understanding for each other’s struggles. 7.5/10 The acting in the movie is quite sublime really. Whoopi and Leleti do quite well, although her accent isn’t great really. The supporting cast does their jobs beautifully and the music is sublime really. 8.5/10. Setting wise really there’s not much to be said. The scenery created by the Soweto background is great. I can’t really say anything wrong. 8.5/10. Wow factor. So, don’t get me wrong as you can see, I rate this movie really highly. But I have to say, either than the great music which as a south African I’d obviously love, it didn’t have the same wow factor as the other movies. The feeling of the movie after you finish isn’t one of amazement but one of, okay, I watched a good movie. Songs were good. Just not as fulfilling as the other 2. Also, I feel like they could have added a bit more African language in the dialogue, and it wasn’t all English. That took away a bit from the feel of authenticity of the story. 6.5/10 wow factor wise.


So, tallying up we see Jerusalema= 8.5+8.5+6.5+8= 31.5

Tsotsi= 6.5+8.5+7.5+8=30.5

Sarafina=7.5+8.5+8.5+6.5=31


So according to this Jerusalema is the best movie in SA And I aint mad really from the results. IF you disagree I’m willing to converse.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

THANK FOR SUBSCRIBING

bottom of page