top of page
  • Writer's pictureNtando

Distance, the silent Killer


This article takes me back to high school, where I learnt of this reality all to well. A lesson taught rather abruptly and swiftly. I recently saw a tweet on Twitter, listing the key elements required in making a long distance relationship last and maybe even thrive. Amongst things listed were:


1. Loyalty

2. Excellent communication

3. Money

4. Patience

5. Love

6. Honesty and most importantly

7. An expiry date to the distance keeping you and your lover apart.


I have since become a student of "the game" after arriving in Johannesburg in 2016. Now, you don't ask to become a student, you just all of a sudden find yourself in the thick of it and learning as you go along. You'd be wise to take the advice of those you trust and those older than you. Saves quiet a lot of heartache and learning things the hard way. I have never had a serious long-distance relationship. Nor do I ever want to be apart of one but the way my life is going, it seems only inevitable. I say I don't want to be a part of one cuz I've been behind the scenes of people in one. Yo, lemme tell you - shit gets really real. If people can cheat on you whilst you live a kilometer away, imagine residing in another province, lol. Now obviously we’re talking about relationships that were never destined to last here but this doesn't mean it doesn't implant a powerful feeling of hopelessness and just simply put, give a nigga trust issues. Personally, I was very nonchalant and trusting in my past life. Back when I was bright-eyed and naive, when I used to rock an untamed afro that yelled "virgin". But now I know better, you get played once or twice and you quickly learn. Trust is limited and earned, gradually.


Back to the topic at hand. The advice I'd give someone ready to commit to the unthinkable is... Bro, just don't do it. It won't work out. But for the hopeless romantics, critical thinking isn't your strongest trait. So, tell me how it goes. This isn't me being a smart-ass by the way. Just being my normal realistic self - others would call me pessimistic but they'd be wrong of course. Fam, anything is possible if you just believe. But don't be mad when I tell you, "I told you so."

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

THANK FOR SUBSCRIBING

bottom of page