top of page
  • Writer's picturemalumwakho

SMOKE BREAK OUTRO

Updated: Apr 2, 2020





Sometimes you have to step back and look at what you been working on from afar. I believe that a huge part of the creative process is the time spent away from the project.


I’m used to it now, many times I would arrive in the morning at school and I’d be faced by it. And by it I mean Ngcebo with a list he’s working on and he’d usually have the more African quadrant of the registration class worked up trying to find the correct order that will satisfy everyone’s ego. If it’s not a list of the best footballers in their positions, it’s a list of the top 10 rappers. I would then put up this false character of a hip hop or football historian making sure the usual heralded names show up on the list. Bro I had never listen to a full Nas album or watched enough of Maradona to put them in my top 10 but I did coz cliché you know? Sooner rather than later these lists expose your lack of knowledge and the guide towards acquiring more knowledge than you usually would. Thus is the influence of Fluid Thoughts on my life.


Twitter, the open opinion market, opinions compressed to fit the character limit and then shared on the conveyor belt of thought that is the timeline. This is the only form of creative writing I have consistently nurtured in the last four years, so when Ngcebo hit me up to write a piece for this new blog he had started, I was caught off form. I felt a wave of anxious energy that was only softened by the excitement for sharing my opinions on my interests as Ngcebo had requested. Carrying a conversation with strangers more extended than the kind the Twitter platform provides. At first try I exceeded my expectations but there was more that I could do. At that point in time I still viewed the Fluid Thoughts with fresh eyes, seeing what was amazing about it and also seeing what could improve. There has been gradual improvement overall with Ngcebo, Ntando and I sharing similar concepts of where we see the blog going in the near future. It has been rewarding seeing the growth from “Momma’s Spaghetti” all the way through to “The Healing Factor”, the Frank Ocean one-page layout to last edition’s double disc CD concept. I’ll forever be grateful for this opportunity Ngcebo.


Lately I have been suffering from a writer’s block. It’s not one of those ones where you just don’t have anything to write about but it’s the one where all your ideas look like a product of incest with your older ideas. I don’t know if it’s caused by the mental strain of the exams I endured or most of my RAM being used up by thinking of this long ass name that belongs to a girl I like; whatever it is I need a break to refresh. Everything ends up feeling the same at some point in time. I hope a smoke break gives me the strength to continue having Fluid Thoughts’ foot on the other blogs’ necks. Catch these thoughts on the Twitter timeline till further notice.


Malum Wakho.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

THANK FOR SUBSCRIBING

bottom of page